2 BTP MLAs withdraw support from Ashok Gehlot-led govt in Rajasthan

Two Bhartiya Tribal Party (BTP) MLAs have withdrawn their support from the Congress government in Rajasthan. They had supported CM Ashok Gehlot during the confidence vote earlier this year.

Two Bharatiya Tribal Party (BTP) MLAs, who had supported the Ashok Gehlot-led government during the confidence vote earlier this year, withdrew their support from the Congress government in Rajasthan on Friday. The development comes a day after the Congress faced defeat in Panchayat Raj elections recently.

The two MLAs accused the Congress of not supporting them in the elections.

BJP has claimed victory over the Congress in the Panchayati Raj elections in Rajasthan. While polls were held for 4,371 constituencies across the state, as many as 222 samitis have been announced so far on the basis of the results. Out of 4,371 Panchayati Raj constituencies, the BJP has claimed victory in 1,812 followed by the Congress with 1,695.

The two MLAs had supported Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot in August when his government was under a political crisis after former deputy CM Sachin Pilot rebelled. After months of uncertainty caused by Sachin Pilot’s rebellion, Ashok Gehlot proved his government’s majority in the Rajasthan Assembly by winning the confidence motion with a voice vote.

The Bharatiya Tribal Party with 2 MLAs has been backing Ashok Gehlot since 2018.

Source: India Today


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here