Pak based terror groups named in BRICS declaration


Beijing/ New Delhi. In the 9th BRICS Summit in Xiamen, the leaders of the BRICS countries passed a declaration condemning terrorism in all forms and manifestation which includes the Pakistan-based LeT, JeM, Haqqani network, Taliban, Al Qaeda, among groups.

“We deplore all terrorist attacks worldwide, including attacks in BRICS countries, and condemn terrorism in all its forms & manifestations wherever committed & by whomsoever & stress that there can be no justification”, reads the declaration.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi is also in Xiamen to attend the Brazil, Russia, India, China, South Africa  Summit 2017. After China, PM Modi will leave for a three-day visit to Myanmar. The Indian PM is in China at such a time when they have skirmishes over border disputes in Doklam and Ladakh.

The ninth BRICS Summit is themed ‘Stronger Partnership for a Brighter Future’, and will conclude on 5 September.

Narendra Modi also had a meeting with Russian President Vladimir Putin, on the sidelines of 9th Summit in Xiamen. He is also expected to hold bilateral talks with Chinese President Xi Jinping on 5 September.

The PM Modi urged the early creation of BRICS rating agency to cater to financing needs of sovereign and corporate entities of developing countries.

“We are in mission-mode to eradicate poverty; to ensure health, sanitation, skills, food security, gender equality, energy, education. Our women’s empowerment programmes are productivity multipliers that mainstream women in nation building” said Modi.

However on the other side Chinese President Xi Jinping and his Russian counterpart Vladimir Putin agreed to de-nuclearise the Korean Peninsula and keep communication, reported People’s Daily of China.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here